## ALSGBI Scientific Programme

Wednesday 6 November 2024 – 8 CPD Points

07:45-17:15	REGISTRATION DESK OPEN Industry Exhibition, Hall 3, Ground Floor
07:45-09:00 10:50-11:20 12:40-13:55 15:25-15:45	REFRESHMENT TIMES Industry Exhibition, Hall 3, Ground Floor Tea & Coffee Tea & Coffee Lunch Tea & Coffee
07:30-08:30	BREAKFAST MEETING / Pre-Book Hall 2, Ground Floor
	IAGES ON COMPLICATIONS OF MAS: PREVENTION & MANAGEMENT INTRODUCTION OF THE THEME Chairs: Mr Javed Latif (Derby); Professor Chelliah Selvasekar (Manchester); Professor Viswanath YKS (Middlesbrough)
	POST LAP CHOLECYSTECTOMY COMPLICATION: PREVENTION & MANAGEMENT/ Dr Subhash Aggarwal (IAGES)
	ENDOSCOPY RESCUE FOR POST SURGICAL COMPLICATIONS Dr Sundaram Easwaramoorthy (IAGES)
	LAP VENTRAL HERNIA: MANAGEMENT OF COMPLICATIONS Dr Sunil D Popat (IAGES)
	MANAGEMENT OF COMPLICATIONS DUE TO BARIATRIC SURGERY Dr Ramen Swrajya Goel (IAGES)
08:30-15:45	INDUSTRY ENGAGEMENT Industry Exhibition, Hall 3, Ground Floor
08:30-15:45	LapPass® PRACTICE WITH TIPS & TRICKS Industry Exhibition, Hall 3, Ground Floor
	ETHICON TRAINING VILLAGE / Pre-Book Industry Exhibition, Hall 3, Ground Floor
08:40-12:40 & 13:40-15:40	LapPass® ASSESSMENTS Private Area, Hall 3, Ground Floor/ Pre-Book
TIMETABLE	THE PROGRAMME SPEAKERS/PANELS SUBJECT TO CHANGE PENDING FURTHER REVIEW Twitter Lead: Miss Oon-Hui Ng (Mersey) Instagram Lead: Miss Aswathy Pavithran (Derby)

09:00-09:05	ALSGBI SCIENTIFIC PROGRAMME – INTRODUCTION The Stage, Hall 2, Ground Floor
	Professor Tan Arulampalam (President); Mr Altaf Awan (Derby)
09:05-09:10	PLATINUM PARTNER'S PRESENTATION
	Chair: Professor Tan Arulampalam (President)
09:10-09:35	THE ALSGBI LECTURE DELIVERING CUTTING EDGE ROBOTIC ABDOMINAL WALL HERNIA SURGERY – AS LIVE SURGERY PRESENTATION
	Dr Filip Muysoms (Past President European Hernia Society. Head of the Department of Abdominal Wall Surgery, AZ Maria Middelares, Ghent, Belgium)  Chairs: Mr Matt Boal (Bristol); Mr John Findlay (Barnstaple)
09:35-10:50	SESSION ONE Learning Objectives: A safe approach to adopting minimally invasive abdominal wall hernia surgery.
	Panel: Mr Imran Bhatti (Derby); Mr Matt Boal (Bristol); Mr Guy Finch (Northampton); Mr Neil Keeling (Bury St Edmunds); Mr Gavin Robertson (Leicester)
	Chair: Dr Filip Muysoms (Ghent)
09:35-09:55	OPTIMAL APPROACHES TO VENTRAL HERNIA WITH ROBOT tbc
09:55-10:15	ROBOTIC GROIN HERNIA REPAIRS Mr Liam Horgan (North Shields)
10:15-10:35	MANAGEMENT OF EMERGENCY ABDOMINAL WALL HERNIAS Mr Matthew Brazkiewicz (Derby)
10:35-10:50	QUESTION TIME / Please line-up by auditorium static microphone
10:50-11:20	INDUSTRY ENGAGEMENT & REFRESHMENTS Industry Exhibition, Hall 3, Ground Floor
11:20-11:50	SESSION ONE (continued)
	FOCUSED EDITED VIDEO SESSION
	Panel: Mr Juin Low (Edinburgh); Ms Robyn Anderson (Nottingham) Chair: Professor Nader Francis (Yeovil)
11:20-11:30	VIDEO 1 / WHAT WOULD YOU DO? CASE 1 / 2 educational points Mr Javed Latif (Derby)
11:30-11:40	VIDEO 2 / WHAT WOULD YOU DO? CASE 2 / 2 educational points RECURRENT INGUINAL HERNIA REPAIR Mr Johnny Haqq (Leicester)

11:40-11:50	QUESTION TIME / Please line-up by auditorium static microphone
11.10 11.00	QOLOTTON TIME / 1 loade mile up by additionally state mile opinione
11:50-12:40	(SESSION 1) FREE PAPERS FROM SUBMITTED ABSTRACTS (5 PAPERS/ 10 minutes each) Chairs: Ms Marina Yiasemidou (London); Professor Viswanath YKS (Middlesbrough)
	All abstracts are published in full in the ALSGBI abstract book which can be downloaded from the ALSGBI website
12:40-13:55	INDUSTRY ENGAGEMENT & LUNCH
	Industry Exhibition, Hall 3, Ground Floor
13:40-13:55	ALSGBI ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AGENDA  1. Apologies for Absence (Mr Andrew Day)
	Minutes of the ALSGBI AGM held on Friday 1 December 2023     (Professor Tan Arulampalam)
	Honorary Secretary's Report (Mr Andrew Day)
	Membership Report
	Election Results / President Elect
	<ul> <li>Announcement of the Travelling Scholarship &amp; Research Fellowship Winners</li> </ul>
	Key Dates
	IAGES tbc EAES Winter Meeting, 23-25 January 2025 / Ghent, Belgium
	ASiT tbc Belfast EAES 33rd International Congress, 17-20 June 2025, Belgrade, Serbia WCES-IAGES tbc
	ALSGBI 2025 Laparoscopic Surgery Training Day tbc
	Robotic Surgery Training Day tbc
	ALSGBI 2025 Annual Scientific Meeting tbc
	<ul> <li>4. Honorary Treasurer's Report (Mr Simon Higgs)</li> <li>Income &amp; Expenditure</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Income &amp; Expenditure</li> <li>Annual Comparison</li> </ul>
	Subscription Rates
	5. Director of Education's Report (Mr Altaf Awan)
	Support of LapPass® Courses
	<ul> <li>Increase Access to LapPass®</li> </ul>
	Working with Industry to increase Laparoscopic Training
	Development of Robotic Training Programme
	6. President's Report (Professor Tan Arulampalam) / tbc
13:55-14:00	BRITISH HERNIA SOCIETY REGISTRY UPDATE
	Mr Liam Horgan, Past President, British Hernia Society
	Chair: Mr Altaf Awan (Derby)

14:00-14:25	EDI LECTURE CONTINUING INEQUALITY IN SURGERY IS A PATIENT SAFETY ISSUE Mr David Sellu, Author, Equality Advocate & Surgeon Chairs: Mr Thomas Mroczek (Manchester); Miss Anna Palepa (Colchester); Mr Anil Reddy (Middlesbrough)
14:25-15:15	(SESSION 2) FREE PAPERS FROM SUBMITTED ABSTRACTS (5 PAPERS/ 10 minutes each) Chairs: Mr Imran Bhatti (Derby); Dr Hamzah Choudhry (Chelmsford); Professor Bijen Patel (London) All abstracts are published in full in the ALSGBI abstract book which can be downloaded from the ALSGBI website
15:15-15:25	POSTER PRESENTATIONS: THE TOP 2 (5 minutes each) Chairs: Mr Andrew Day (Redhill); Mr Simon Higgs (Gloucester); Mr James Olivier (Bristol)
15:25-15:45	INDUSTRY ENGAGEMENT & REFRESHMENTS Industry Exhibition, Hall 3, Ground Floor
15:45-16:25	VIDEOS OF DISTINCTION SESSION (5 VIDEOS/ 8 minutes each) Chairs: Miss Nayaab Abdul-Kader (Southend) tbc
15:45-16:25	PARALLEL VIDEO SESSION (5 VIDEOS/ 8 minutes each) Club Room Chairs: Mr Mootaz Elhusseini (Aberdeen) tbc
16:25-16:50	TRAVELLING SCHOLARSHIPS Chairs: Mr Andrew Day (Redhill); Professor Nader Francis (Harrow); Miss Gita Lingam (Harlow)
16:25-16:35 16:35-16:45	Mr Matt Boal (Bristol) Lt Col Lal Navaratne (London)
16:45-16:50	QUESTION TIME / Please line-up by auditorium static microphone
16:50-17:00	ALSGBI AWARDS CEREMONY Chairs: Professor Tan Arulampalam (Colchester); Mr Andrew Day (Redhill)  Academy Excellence Award Winner 2024 Winner of the 2024 David Dunn Medal Winner of the 2024 Journal of Surgical Simulation Award Winner of the 2024 ALSGBI Best Laparoscopic/Robotic Video Prize Winner of the 2024 ALSGBI Best Laparoscopic/Robotic Poster Prize Winner of the ALSGBI Industry Challenge Industry Challenge Runner-Up ALSGBI Industry Challenge Free Prize Draw